HAPPYNESS / random thoughts

my earliest memory (ies)

"persistence of memory" by Dali

When I am in short of inspiration, I browse the topics sent to me by the daily post by WordPress. It has great and unconventional ideas, and sometimes they make you go down memory lane like this topic; what is my earliest memory?

This is a tricky question; on one hand I do not have a good memory. I have a great ability of forgetting and moving on. That is also a gift i suppose. I realised many years ago that holding grudges weigh me down too much and rarely brings anything constructive to my life.  But it would be fun to take a moment and think a bit. What is my earliest memory?

What is strange about looking back is the intensity of the memories and their content…most of mine are tinted with a strong incident, like falling down in an empty pool at 3; I was looking at a dead cat laying in a puddle of water and then nothing. Apparently i fell down (in the deeper end), but fortunately was not injured by it (maybe a little?)…Another picture that enters my mind is when i was 6 of age, living in Abu Dhabi and going to a British school run by nuns; one afternoon the classroom was left by itself for a moment; imagine a class full of 6 year-olds without surveillance. The teacher came back shortly after and had a fit. Our punishment was being hit on our hands with 2 wooden rulers. I still remember the fear waiting for my turn. A boy next to me told me to rub my hands few times to get them hot, this would lessen the pain he said, guess he tried this before! How Horrible!

Are my oldest memories only about fear and accidents? I wonder…Is it easier to remember strong feelings than happiness? Is happiness like perfume, it faints with time?

Pleasure is the flower that passes; remembrance, the lasting perfume.  ~Jean de Boufflers

What are your earliest memories and what are they connected to?

A lovely quote about remembrance:

It is singular how soon we lose the impression of what ceases to be constantly before us.  A year impairs, a luster obliterates.  There is little distinct left without an effort of memory, then indeed the lights are rekindled for a moment – but who can be sure that the Imagination is not the torch-bearer?  ~Lord Byron

3 thoughts on “my earliest memory (ies)

  1. You made me realize, that every time I think back and reflect on my past it is always the sad memories, the unhappy moments, the unfulfilled wishes that stand out and that I remember strongly, the rest are just very vivid ones and I have even trouble in remembering them in their detail! I wonder why is that? Even sometimes it takes a lot of effort to try and remember a happy incident in all its glory…..and sometimes I fail to do so! But having said that, I know the happy feelings the wonderful times were indeed there!
    Have a great Sunday.

    • Weird how the mind works! An idea would be to write down Happy events and moments for every day (or every week!) and try to read them few years down the lane…maybe that would refresh our amnesia!

      • the other weird thing is, when sometime ago I used to write my diary, I only remembered to write it when something kinda sad or unhappy occurred!! I know now, I would never do that!

Leave a Reply

