random thoughts

instant life

While ironing my clothes, thoughts wander in and out my brain, some of them stay, some don’t. Same thing when doing the dishes.. as if I suddenly can separate my brain from my actual doing, not focusing on the here and now, mind you still washing and ironing, but in the same time day-dreaming and even making quite interesting associations. This is one of them, you might not find it interesting, but had to write and share!

We live in an instant world, we crave instant love, instant recognition, instant coffee, instant “likes”, instant friends, instant power, instant “how to”, instant methods, not to mention instagram! where instant photos are uploaded instantly, and liked instantly by a whole strange global universal community, that connects merely via their phone, without ever seeing and meeting each other, but by knowing every move you make and record with your instant phone-camera…

How did we arrive to that? same thing when you are zapping through your 99 tv channels, looking for instant entertainment, amusement, news…We are hooked on the quick fix, on the here and now, on the very short planning, on jumping to success, by saving the maximum of time, by skipping steps and hoping that this won’t affect the outcome.

What happened to waiting for the coffee to brew and spreading its aroma, what happened to eating strawberries in July (you can have them all year long now!), what happened to healing from a cold by resting instead of filling ourselves with freaking antibiotics that end up ruining our immune system?

When did we forget that loosing weight needs time, when baking a cake needs time, when learning a language needs time, when creating a relationship needs time, when making a business needs time, education and bringing up kids needs loads of time…. Patience is becoming a weird concept, something our children are not learning, because everything around them is a constant movement, information swirling in high speed mode.

Patience used to be a virtue… a quality… a good thing.. and I am missing it in my life. I like instant, but i think it makes my life more superficial, less deep, more fun, less constructive, more full, less focused…patience einsteinpatience 3

patience

time

on this note, i will only say one thing:

take your time…”

2 thoughts on “instant life

  1. oh yes! Glad Im not the only one that feels like a martian at times, when I wanna do things the right way, aka the slow way, the timeconsuming way, from scratch, with my kids, for my kids, for me, for us, for the sake of sanity!…all these quick fixes, quick mixes, instant pleasures where consequences are something that almost dosent exist (?!?) gets to me and I feel oldfashioned and stubborn…but then I remind myself of why….
    Why Its better to be patient, to enjoy, to have longlasting friendships, mature slowly, reconcider, do things yourself rather than having someone do it for you…ect.
    Then its also nice to take a shortcuts sometimes, to have the instant , to feel the rush🙂 but not to confuse it with the real thing…things take time…mostly…and good things are worth waiting for:)
    But it sure is a hard competion to compete with all the quick pleasures, but like you said, arent we not just running around fooling ourselves with the idea that it wont effect the outcome?
    When trouble comes our way the instagram/FB/quick-cup-of-coffee “friends” arent the ones who will be there in reality, When it cant be cured with antibiotics then what do we do? When the kids are behaving badly or life is giving you lemons?
    You are right, it certainly is worth thinking about, before we get all hooked on the instant pleasures and facination takes over:)
    Oh and christmas is around the corner…Im doing all the christmas food from scratch this year, by myself, for the first time ever…My parents are spending christmas in Denmark this year, enjoying the snow and the wintertime, and I will have to try to do everything the way she has always done. I hope I will succeed…but I know that I will try!
    sorry for the looong post…;) could not be quick about it…lol

Leave a Reply

